8th Annual Members Meeting

colors of sunrise with word "Annual Unity Membership Meeting"


DRAFT AGENDA FOR USCL 8th Annual Members Meeting 3/6/2022

Board of Trustees:  President Dan Maynard, V. P. Kathleen Assiff,  Treas. Jane Cloos, Secretary.  Jill Dening ; Chrissie Shearer, Lucille Olson, Teresa Mulford

Minister: Rev. Sharon Ketchum          Jessica Shelton - Record minutes  

Greg Dening – Tech Assistant to verify membership of virtual attendees  In Person: Chrissie will check in members

In Person at 2395 Washington Road, Lansing, MI 48911/ Zoom: Meeting ID: 177 417 886 Passcode: 601744


12:00   Call Meeting to Order by Board President                                                    Dan Maynard

Opening Prayer                                                                                  Rev. Sharon Ketchum

Mission, Vision, and Core Values                                                      All

Approval of Meeting Agenda                                                            Motion


Explanation of Voting Methods                                                        President Dan Maynard

In person members raise hands for all voting.  If joining virtually. Raise hand next to face.

Any member can request that we take a roll call vote on any item.

Scrutineers for counting of Zoom Hand Votes:  Greg Dening and Jessica Shelton.

Scrutineers for in person votes:  two volunteers

Establish quorum       – number of members signed into meeting              Greg Dening

Motion to approve 2022 Annual Members Meeting Minutes     (CLICK HERE TO READ 2022 MINUTES)                                    

Minutes posted on website – they will not be read aloud


Financial Report                                                                     Jane Cloos. Treasurer

Presentation 2022 Financials, P&L, Balance Sheet, Actuals/Budget 

2022-2021 Profit and Loss StatementBalance Sheet2022 Actuals to Budget

Presentation of 2023 Budget Click for Draft Budget document

Motion to approve 2023 Budget

Blessing the Ministry’s gifts and assets                                                        Rev. Sharon Ketchum           

Acknowledgement: Kathy Assiff, Jill Dening, Dan Maynard                        Rev. Sharon

Old Business

Approval of revised bylaws (from 2019 – 2022) Bylaws Team of Teresa Mulford and Cindy Falkner (LINK TO BYLAWS)


*Election of Board of Trustees Members                                                              Dan Maynard

Board Rep of Nominating Team presents the slate of nominees                          Lucille Olson

Slate of Board Nominees 2023: Both are running for their 1st term

(alphabetically):          Jill Dening, Jeff Benoit             Click for Photos and Introductions 

Nominations from the floor are entertained                                                Dan Maynard

Each nominee is invited to introduce themselves and say a few words

Vote to approve the slate presented by the Nominating Team

(If there are nominees from the floor, vote will be done by raising of hand.-

Asking that any nominations from the floor be submitted prior to the meeting)

*Election of Congregational Representative and Alternate to Nominating Team Dan Maynard

Vote for Congregational Rep and Alternate Representative to nominating team:

Asking that volunteers to be part of the nomination team submit interest prior to meeting 

 President’s Report                                                                Dan Maynard

Reports – discussion by exception

  1. Renovation Budget Update Report
  2. Venue Rental Team update Report

New Business

Any from the floor?

Closing Prayer                                                                                 Rev. Sharon Ketchum

Motion to Adjourn –

Everyone is invited to a Blessing of the Lodge (upper floor) followed by a potluck luncheon in the Great Hall